Skip to content

Week 3: Class

October 5, 2011

Prompt: What is your social class? Why or how do you establish your membership in that group? Has your social class changed at any point in your life? Try to provide specific examples to illustrate your points.

I haven’t looked closely at my family’s socioeconomic status, which I suppose says plenty in itself, but our family is upper-middle class. We fit Marger’s definition of this class in both income (my dad has a good job) and social circumstance (our entire family is college-educated). My parents seemed frugal when I was growing up, but I think that was simply a kid’s-eye view, from someone who didn’t have an allowance or a summer job, and thus had to entertain himself with freeware games.

For as long as I can remember, we’ve lived in the same house – a big house in a good school district. I was born in a different house, but I have no memories of it and my contact with it is limited to my parents saying “There’s the old house!” as we occasionally drive by it, so I can’t say if it was any better or worse. In short, my social class has been constant for my whole life, and I’m happy to maintain it. My going to college is just continuing a family tradition.

One Comment
  1. Jessica permalink

    In looking at the prompt, it asks for you to describe your social class, while you first references your socioeconomic status — Did you do that purposefully or do you see the two as interchangeable? I think people often think first of their social class in terms of economics, while Marger points out that there is an entire behavioral element that plays a role. What were your thoughts on that while reading that text? Good examples to illustrate your points along the way, too.

Leave a Reply

